The standard cookie policy for this website is to allow all cookies. This helps to ensure you have the optimal experience. If you would like to continue with our optimal website experience, you don't need to make any changes. If you would like to learn more about what cookies are and how we use them, visit our privacy policy page.


Lingfield College - Science Department                   

Life as an adult can be daunting, whether it be wiring a plug, deciding to have your baby vaccinated or understanding how your mobile phone works! In the Lingfield College Science Department, we aim to provide that fundamental yet crucial knowledge and remove some of the uncertainty that Science in the modern world so often harbours.

The Science Department is staffed by an enthusiastic team of nine teachers and three laboratory technicians. The staff within the Department have a wide range of specialisms and backgrounds in Science, which allows them to teach the broad curricular to a high standard.

I am fascinated by how humans utilise plants on a habitual basis and it is this fascination that drove me to study Botany at university. All my students are aware of my passion for plants and I fill with pride when someone in my class exclaims “Sir, plants are a lot more interesting than I thought they were! Jon Grant, Head of Science, Head of Biology

The aims are:

  • To ensure all pupils achieve their potential
  • To develop all students’ interest in Science through the use of a wide range of activities in lessons.
  • To ensure that all students are taught in a challenging but friendly environment, where their individual needs are met.
Studying Science at Key Stage 3

Years 7 and 8 are taught General Science which is broken down into Biology, Chemistry and Physics topics. Pupils follow the ‘Activate Key Stage 3’ Science course for the 2014 curriculum. At the end of Year 8, pupils are set ready for the start of Year 9 according to ability and achievement.

Studying Science at Key Stage 4

In Year 9, all students begin studying GCSE Science, which is taught as three separate subjects, Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Students follow the AQA GCSE syllabus for each Science. For those students who do not wish to continue with the three separate Sciences, the option of the GCSE Combined Science Trilogy is available for study during Year 11. Students can opt for entrance to this course at the end of Year 10. The course is the equivalent of the Double Award in Science and provides two GCSEs. The choice is made after discussion with parents and tutors and is guided by recommendations from an individual’s Science teachers.

Science Clubs and Visits

In addition to the curriculum, the Science Department runs a variety of clubs for all age groups. This includes Science Club (Years 7 and 8), Rocket Club (Years 7 and 8), GCSE Astronomy (Years 9, 10 and 11), Journal Club (Years 12 and 13) and CREST Awards (Years 7-13). The Department also organises regular trips for students to enhance their understanding and enjoyment of Science. This includes international excursions to the European Space Centre in Belgium, as well as more local visits to Wakehurst Place and Down House, once home of Charles Darwin.